Posted by: HouPE | 07/31/2013

A Teen POV of Perry Library

As a frequent reader of our blog, you are probably aware that Perry Public Library has a new face in the stacks. Dajia is our teen library assistant. As a teen she offers a unique view of the library and our services. We’ve asked her to share her thoughts on the library experience as a teen.

Picture

What have you thought of working at the library this summer?

D: Working at the library this summer has been an amazing experience. I think that working here is almost what I expected; but there are many things about the library that I didn’t know about. When I first started visiting the library as a patron, I only thought of the library as calm, and a soothing environment. Since this is a public library, I knew there would be some kinds of programs to keep the community engaged and active this summer. I found that there were many more services and items available that I did not know about.

What were some of the services or activities that were new to you?

Many teens do not think of the library as a place that provides opportunities for their age group, but there are actually a lot of things that teens can do at the library. Before coming to work here, I thought of the library just as a place where I could read and check out books, study for tests and quizzes, and get my work done for school.

What would you share with other teens about the teen activities?

Out of all of the teen programs I was able to assist with, there are 2 that were my all time favorites. The psychological illusionist Sean Waters was my favorite program. He was able to guess how many friends I hang out with and actually was able to guess my best friend’s name. How awesome was that!! I really enjoyed myself at the one. There is another recent program that I enjoyed, and that was the teen villains program was great. I had a chance to participate in the debates on which villain is the best villain of all time. At the beginning of the program, I was surprised at how much I actually knew about villains. At least it was more than I thought I knew.

I have also had a chance to interact with one of the teen volunteers. She goes to the same school as I do. One day, I came in from my break and she needed reassurance on a shelf location, I was proud to be able to help her.

Is there anything else you’d like people to know about the library?

I feel that the library also provides things that are beneficial and have many useful resources. By using the computers provided, you can get information for anything you need. I think our staff is the friendliest library staff. The Perry branch welcomes all patrons with welcome arms and we hope to see you soon.

Well, I couldn’t have said it better myself!

Leave a Comment

Categories

