Posted by: HOUCV | 02/04/2013

The Circus: Unleashing your Inner Child

Excited 4 year olds. Eager 8 year olds. Determined 11 year olds. This is just a sampling of the many expressions seen in the kids that came to the Centerville Public Library to sign up for our Reading with Ringling Bros. program. And after registering 300+ children, I started thinking to myself that it’s been a really long time since I’ve personally been to the circus. In fact, I don’t even remember the last time I’ve gone (although my mom swears up and down that it was no more than 10 years ago… hmmm…). Having no children of my own yet, I figured I should just wait a few more years until I could enjoy it with a little one, but… by the time opening night of the circus came around, I just couldn’t stand it. I decided I wanted to go to the circus, and take some coworkers with me!

L-R: Karbecia, Laura, and Heather of the Centerville Public Library

L-R: Karbecia, Laura, and Heather of the Centerville Public Library

On Thursday, January 31, Heather, Karbecia, and I  (Laura) set out on an adventure to the Macon Coliseum. After enduring what felt like a never-ending line of traffic to the parking lot, we finally made it to our (very good) seats and thoroughly enjoyed the wonder of professional jugglers, motorcycle drivers, and “strong man” log-lifters. The highlight for us was the very talented elephants – they marched in perfect circles, stood on hind legs, and danced the night away! There were some pretty clever dogs too (this got me to thinking: maybe I can train my Australian Shepherd to jump through hoops and downright over my whole body – hmmm… probably not. But it was sure fun to watch!).

3 motorcyclists rode inside the metal circle...at the same time!

3 motorcyclists rode inside the metal cage…at the same time!

One of the best parts of the show was seeing the impact our library had on the Centerville community. We saw several of our own library patrons, plus our coworkers and families were able to participate and receive circus passes for their little ones. It warms my heart to know that the library could offer our area kids an opportunity to read more books, and be graciously rewarded in return!

Karbecia showing off her very fashionable pink hair she purchased while at the circus

Karbecia showing off her very fashionable pink hair she purchased at the circus

If you had the opportunity to participate in our Reading with Ringling Bros. program, tell us what you thought – did it help your kids enjoy reading? What was your favorite part of the circus?

Leave a Comment

Categories

