Posted by: houwr | 08/08/2012

Music: More than Just your iPod

When I was little, I used to play the piano by ear. Believe it or not, I was pretty good – I could even play some songs with both hands (as an 11-year-old girl, I was very excited about this!). Chances are I could still do that today if I put my mind to it, but I haven’t tried in several years.  I even took some piano lessons as a teenager, but I simply became uninterested in learning how to do it properly and reading the music. I probably found it easier to just try until I could play it back after hearing it… anyway, I think I was lacking a true appreciation for this instrument. After all, some of the greatest names in history were amazing piano players (Mozart and Beethoven anyone?), and they probably had big respect for the sound of each note and its capabilities. This is why I think the Warner Robins Community Concert Association is such a great organization – it encourages music appreciation and holds amazing concerts for all ages!

Take the wind instruments for example. There are brass and woodwind instruments that are classified as wind – these include saxophones, flutes, and clarinets. To hear these instruments in beautiful harmony, make sure to grab your ticket to the Wellston Winds performance. Formed in 2011, this band strives to provide enjoyable and engaging musical performances. Band members include educators, professionals, and advanced high school students, making this a great learning experience for anyone interested in the wind instruments. What I really love about the Community Concert Association is its dedication to music education and appreciation – all students gain free admission to any concert!

But before you attend any musical performance, you may want to bring yourself or your child to the library and read up on the topic. The Instruments of Music provides your child with a great overview of the human voice and the orchestra. Woodwinds: an Introduction to Musical Instruments specifically focuses on all the music makers in the woodwind family. We also have a Scribner Guide to Musical Instruments and an entire Oxford Companion on the subject – the possibilities are endless!

If you are interested in attending the Wellston Winds concert, it will take place on August 26 at the First United Methodist Church in Warner Robins. Adult admission is $10 and all students get in for free. For more information or to learn about other upcoming performances, visit the Association’s website.

What is your favorite musical instrument to play and/or listen to?

Responses

  1. How exciting! I did not realize that Warner Robins had a concert association.

  2. I was in concert band for 7yrs and marching band for 5. During those years I learned to play a number of instruments. My favorite was the Oboe,(if you’re familar with Peter and the Wolf, it’s the sound the duck makes).


Leave a Comment

Categories

