Posted by: houwr | 05/11/2012

The Latest and Greatest at the Nola Brantley Memorial Library

Here at the Nola Brantley Memorial Library, we have yet another exciting new face! This one is a person with whom you will definitely want to get to know, so without further ado, I’d like to introduce you to… *drum roll please*

Mr. Mark Bohnstedt!

As of May 1, Mark (last name pronounced Bon-sted) officially became our library’s new branch manager.  Although he has just begun his tenure with us, he has already proven to be a great boss and a valuable information resource for our patrons.  I had the opportunity to sit down and have a question/answer session with him, and it went a little something like this:

Q: What made you decide to become a librarian?
A: I’ve always loved being around books, and figured it would be awesome to go into a profession that allowed me to be around them every day! When I entered library school, however, I learned that libraries are more than just books – its’ a place full of electronic resources and all types of information.  Also, I love being there for those in need of our public services. 

Q: So, you have come to us all the way from Arizona – what made you decide on Georgia?
A: I have strong ties to this state.  My oldest brother has been stationed at WRAFB for several years now and my other brother is a teacher at a nearby school.  When my parents retired, they decided to move here as well, so it’s great to be close to my family again. 

Q: Can you tell me a little about your educational and professional background?
A: I received my undergraduate degree in history from Occidental College in Los Angeles.  I then pursued my MLIS from the University of Arizona.  While I was at Occidental, I worked at the college library. There, I learned the basics of librarianship and the impact of resource sharing.  After I graduated, I became a library assistant at a public library in AZ before accepting the job here as branch manager.

Q: What are your favorite hobbies?
A: Reading, of course! My favorite genre would probably be dystopian YA fiction, but I also enjoy non-fiction and anything by Charlie Huston.  Other than that, I love hiking with my dog and playing basketball at a local park.

Q: When are you the most available to our patrons?
A: Anytime I’m here! Monday-Friday and even on some Saturdays – my office door is always open.

Welcome to our library, Mark!

If you have any questions for Mark or would like more information, contact the Nola Brantley Memorial Library at (478)923-0128.

Leave a Comment

Categories

